Shockley-Zalabak named Pikes Peak region “Unstoppable Woman”

Pam Shockley-Zalabak at the grand-opening gala for the Ent Center for the Arts Feb. 3, 2018.

The former chancellor of UCCS and seven graduates of the Karen Possehl Women’s Endowment Scholarship Program will be celebrated at the 2018 Unstoppable Women’s Luncheon May 15. Pam Shockley-Zalabak will be honored by the KPWE Advisory Board and community as the Pikes Peak region “Unstoppable Woman” during the event.

The 14th Annual Unstoppable Women’s Luncheon will take place at 11:30 a.m. at the Gallogly Events Center. Individuals tickets are $65 per person. All net proceeds benefit the Karen Possehl Women’s Endowment Program. To attend, register online or call (719) 255-5108 for more information. Event sponsors include Winslow BMW of Colorado Springs, Nancy Lewis and Lyda Hill, Ent Credit Union, Penrose-St. Francis Health Services and the El Pomar Foundation.

Shockley-Zalabak was the chancellor at UCCS for 15 years and retired in February 2017 after more than 40 years at the university. During her tenure, she oversaw an enrollment growth of 75 percent, development of new academic programs and a $500 million expansion in campus facilities.

Shockley-Zalabak is the president of CommuniCon, Inc., an organizational and leadership development corporation. She is the author of nine books and more than 100 other publications and productions. Shockley-Zalabak is the interim CEO of the United States Olympic Museum and Hall of Fame under construction in downtown Colorado Springs.

Previous Unstoppable Woman award winners include Barbara Swaby, Lt. Gen. Michelle Johnson, Jan Martin, Nancy Lewis, Margot Lane, Sharon Berthrong, Mary Osborne, Mary Lou Makepeace, Karen Possehl, Barbara Yalich, Mary Mashburn, Mary Ellen McNally and Kathy Loo.

In addition to Shockley-Zalabak, seven students will be recognized for completing the KPWE program and graduating from UCCS. A partial list includes:

  • Jeani Brenner, Bachelor of Arts in inclusive elementary education, projected graduation spring 2018
  • Rachael Eaker, Bachelor of Science in health care science, projected graduation spring 2018
  • Stacey Erwin, Bachelor of Arts in inclusive elementary education, projected graduation spring 2018
  • Isabel Mendoza, Bachelor of Science in business management, graduated fall 2017
  • Elizabeth Peterson, Bachelor of Science in mathematics, projected graduation spring 2018

The KPWE Scholarship program, endowed in 1998 by Karen and Jim Possehl, Denver, and further supported by hundreds of community members, provides financial assistance and mentor support for nontraditional UCCS students who are starting or returning to college after having overcome significant personal adversity. In addition to providing tuition assistance, KPWE matches scholars with community mentors who offer encouragement and professional contacts. The program provides career-focused workshops giving students the chance to learn more outside the classroom. Thanks to community support, the program supports 26 students a year. Since its inception, 175 scholarships have been awarded. For more information, visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.