Police chief search to begin soon

Susan Szpyrka
Suzanne Scott













A 12-member committee with representatives from faculty, staff, students and the community will assist in the search for new executive director for public safety and chief of the UCCS Police Department.

Susan Szpyrka, senior vice chancellor, Administration and Finance, announced the committee members Feb. 23. She will meet with the committee in early March to review the position with plans to advertise the position in mid-March and announce a selection by July 1.

“I will review the qualifications with the search committee but I believe we are looking for someone who is a certified peace officer in the state of Colorado and has experience on a college or university campus,” Szpyrka said. “Additionally, I believe the successful candidate must be able to demonstrate the ability to manage high-profile events and to work collaboratively, both with the faculty, staff and students of the university and our community law enforcement partners.”

The committee will recommend to Szpyrka a permanent replacement for Brian McPike who resigned in August to accept a position with the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office. Since August, Marc Pino, police lieutenant, has served as interim chief; Clay Garner, police lieutenant, has served as interim deputy chief.

Suzanne Scott, budget director, Resource Management Division, will chair the search. Faculty, staff or student governance groups nominated several committee members; others were chosen because of their working relationships with the chief position.

The other committee members are:

  • Clay Garner, interim deputy chief, Department of Public Safety
  • Jarod Heidrick, police officer, Department of Public Safety
  • Tom Hutton, executive director, University Communications and Media Relations
  • Steve Linhart, assistant vice chancellor, Dean of Students Office
  • Christina Martinez, associate dean, Kraemer Family Library
  • Alec Mieras, student
  • Jesse Rochell, cashier supervisor, Resource Management Division
  • George Reed, dean, School of Public Affairs
  • Mark Smith, deputy chief, Colorado Springs Police Department
  • Jim Spice, executive director, Parking and Transportation Services
  • Tim Stoecklein, emergency management program director, Department of Public Safety

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.