Ying Shang named new dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science

Ying Shang, Ph.D.

Ying Shang, Ph.D., will begin in her new role as dean on July 1, 2024.

“I was very impressed by the university’s leadership team, strategic directions, innovative academic programs, and, most importantly, friendliness and collegiality from faculty, staff and students at UCCS,” said Shang. “The College of Engineering and Applied Science has a bright future ahead including several new academic programs launching, the Anschutz Engineering Center construction completion, engineering building renovation, and cybersecurity facility expansion project. I am extremely honored and humbled to join UCCS at this exciting time.”

Shang has served as the Dean of Talwar College of Engineering and Computer Sciences and Professor of Electrical Engineering at Indiana Institute of Technology since 2021. During her tenure, she led the $21.4 million Zollner Engineering Center expansion and renovation, launched four new undergraduate and graduate programs and 12 undergraduate and graduate certificate programs, increased student enrollment in two years by 300, secured five programs ABET accreditation, led three successful grant funding from federal and private foundations for more than $4 million, served as the program director for a $25 million institutional grant currently under review by the private foundation, assisted the university $21.6 million capital campaign leading to more than $7 million fundraising goal for engineering, drafted the university intellectual property policy, and led the launching of the Northeast Indiana Center of Engineering to support entrepreneurship and workforce training in Northeast Indiana.

Prior to arriving at Indiana Tech, Shang was the Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Evansville and Professor of Electrical Engineering from 2018 to 2021. Prior to her work at Evansville, Shang spent 12 years at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville from 2006 to 2018, starting as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and ultimately rising to become the department chair. Shang also served as the faculty advisor for the Society of Women Engineers Student Chapter at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville from 2007 to 2013 and initiated the first annual Introduce a Girl to Engineering event.

Shang is also the founder and president for Shining Innovation, primarily operating in the consulting, engineering research, and new product development of electric vehicle battery integration and energy storage. Her company projects were the finalist of Fall 2022 Elevate Nexus Northern Region Pitch Competitions in Indiana and semifinalist of the McCloskey New Venture Competition at the Univeristy of Notre Dame in Spring 2023. Another project in lithium-ion battery testing technology is currently under review from National Science Foundation Small Business Innovation Research Phase I grant for $266,000.

Shang is a professional member of the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE), and the Society of Women Engineers (SWE), and senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). She is currently serving as the board member for American Council on Education (ACE) Women’s Network of Indiana and ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission program evaluator for IEEE and ASEE organizations.

Shang earned her B.S. in Control Science from Shandong University in China and her M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame. Shang’s research expertise includes discrete-event control systems and hybrid systems with applications in communication networks, transportation systems, electric vehicle, and manufacturing systems.

Shang is taking the place of Don Rabern, who retired after serving as dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science from July 2019 through 2023.

The search committee members included:

  • Henrietta Pichon, Dean of the College of Education, Committee Chair
  • Tom Amundson, Senior Instructor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Kate Collins, Northrop Grumman Corp, Space Systems
  • Tom Dewar, Executive Director of Development
  • Laura Edwards, Financial Administrator, EAS
  • Miranda Goelz, Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Student
  • Peter Gorder, Associate Professor and Department Chair, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Karel Hernandez Bandrich, Mechanical Engineering Graduate Student
  • Chris Malec, Senior Instructor, Computer Science
  • Sue McClernan, Career and Industry Outreach Program Director
  • Tosin Oluwadare, Assistant Professor, Computer Science
  • James Stevens, Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Scott Trimboli, Associate Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Charles Zhou, Professor, Computer Science and Associate Dean