As systemwide strategic planning process continues, UCCS is Leaning Into the Future

CU Leaning into the Future text over a black and white chessboard

Leaning Into the Future, CU’s strategic planning process, is roughly halfway to completion, as the effort that began in early summer 2019 moves toward a July presentation to the Board of Regents and implementation expected in the fall.

The strategic plan is a systemwide effort, and the outcome will not take the place of Success 2030, the UCCS Strategic Plan. While engagement with campus constituents has been ongoing, the timeline still provides for significant input from the UCCS community. Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to take part in the shaping of the strategic plan.

Working groups have been formed for the Leaning Into the Future strategic planning process to address the charge for each of the nine areas of strategic focus within the plan’s four broad pillars. Each working group has co-chairs and campus leads. You can share input and feedback with each group via email:

  • Graduation Rate and Retention
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group Leads
      • Brett Fugate, Director, Academic Advising
      • Susan Taylor, Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education & Academic Planning and Professor of English
  • Diversity, Inclusion, Equity and Access
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group Leads
      • Anthony Cordova, Director, Multicultural Office for Student Access, Inclusiveness, & Community (MOSAIC) and MOSAIC Gateway Program
      • Andrea Herrera, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  • Campus Wellness and Mental Health
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group Leads
      • Stephanie Hanenberg, FNP-C, Executive Director, Health and Wellness at the Gallogly Recreation and Wellness Center 
      • Paige Whitney, Director, Center for Active Living
  • Innovation in Learning and Teaching
    • Working Group Co-Chairs
      • Mike Lightner, Vice President and Academic Affairs Officer, CU System
      • Rebecca Kantor, Dean, School of Education and Human Development, CU Denver
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group member
      • Tim Chamillard, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Computer Science
  • Research/Scholarship/Creative Work and Graduate Programs
    • Working Group Co-Chairs
      • Michael Lightner, Ph.D., Vice President and Academic Affairs Officer, CU System
      • Terri Fiez, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research and Professor of Electrical, Computer & Energy Engineering, CU Boulder
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group members
      • Tom Christensen, Ph.D., Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
      • Jessi Smith, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Research Integrity Officer
  • Health Care
    • Working Group Co-Chairs
      • Laura Borgelt, PharmD, MBA, Associate Dean of Administration & Operations – Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and Professor, Departments of Clinical Pharmacy and Family Medicine, CU Anschutz Medical Campus
      • Glen Mays, Ph.D., MPH, Chair and Professor, Department of Health Systems, Management and Policy, School of Public Health, (School of Public Health), CU Anschutz Medical Campus
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group member
      • Kevin Laudner, Dean, Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Tech Enablement and Infrastructure
    • Working Group Co-Chairs
      • Kathy Nesbitt, Vice President for Administration, CU System
      • Harper Johnson, CIO and Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology, UCCS
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group members
      • Tracy Barber, Director, Office of the Registrar
      • Gurvirender Tejay, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Information Systems, College of Business
      • Nicholas Traczek, student
  • Collaboration and Partnerships
    • Working Group Co-Chairs
      • Tanya Kelly-Bowry, Vice President for Government Relations, CU System
      • Abby Benson, MS, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, CU Boulder
      • Steve VanNurden, President and Chief Executive Officer, Fitzsimons Redevelopment Authority, CU Anschutz & Denver
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group member
      • Jen Furda, Director of Partnerships & Government Affairs
  • Deferred Maintenance and Sustainability
    • Working Group Chair
      • Todd Saliman, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, CU System
    • CU Colorado Springs Working Group members
      • Chuck Litchfield, Vice Chancellor Administration and Finance
      • Kent Marsh, Associate Vice Chancellor of Campus Planning and Facilities Management
    •     CU Colorado Springs Sustainability Adviser
      • Josh Hellman, student

Working groups recently completed key metrics and goals for each of the strategic focus areas. Soon, the groups will propose three to five prioritized action steps by focus area. The fiscal feasibility team will estimate costs later in April. UCCS will continue to play a key role in the development of the systemwide strategic plan. Make your voice heard by engaging via the email links above – also posted here – and follow the progress at the strategic planning website.