Annual awards

A campus awards ceremony to highlight both campus-wide award winners as well as faculty and staff recognized by the CU System was May 5 in the Dusty Loo Bon Vivant Theater in University Hall. The program, with citations, is available as a PDF.

Student Government Association Student’s Choice Award. Student Government Association Speaker of the House Jay Taylor congratulates winner Connie Blackmann, senior instructor, Communication.
JP Morgan Chase Community Community Service Award. From left, Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak, award winner Abby Ferber, professor, Sociology and Women’s and Ethnic Studies, and Jill Barkin, vice president, JP Morgan Case.
Outstanding Teacher Award. David Anderson, associate professor, Chemistry, congratulates winner Susan Taylor, associate professor, English, while University Club member Chris Chippendale looks on.
Faculty Award for Excellence in Research. Associate Vice Chancellor Michael Larson presents Ann Hickey, associate dean, College of Business with the award. Hickey accepted the award on behalf of winner Eric Olson, professor, Business, who was unable to attend the ceremony.
Faculty Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity. Associate Vice Chancellor Kee Warner congratulates winner Marguerite Cantu, senior instructor, Communication.
Outstanding Instructor Award. Provost Peg Bacon congratulates winner Barbara Headle, instructor, History.
Outstanding Staff Award. Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak pauses for a moment with winner Jayne Lloyd, general professional, Kraemer Family Library.
Special Chancellor’s Award. Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak pauses for a moment with Robert Wonnett, vice chancellor, Student Success. Wonnett is retiring, having served in positions including vice chancellor, dean of students, and director of public safety.
Special Chancellor’s Award. Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak pauses for a moment with Jim Rynning, Colorado Springs. Rynning has led Curiosity Unlimited for many years in addition to completing courses in physics and psychology.
Chancellor’s Award. Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak pauses for a moment with winner Ede Greene, professor, Psychology.
Campus Sustainability Award. From left, Sustainability Director Linda Kogan with award winners Carole Huber, senior instructor, Geography and Environmental Studies, Tom Huber, professor, Geography and Environmental Studies, and Tom Christensen, dean, College of Letters, Arts and Sciences.
Alumni and Friends Award. Alumni and Friends Association Chairperson Paul Butcher (center), with Ryan Dunn, left, and Toby Gannett, right, who represented Dunn and Associates, the owner of Palisades at Broadmoor Bluffs.
Student Achievement Award. Executive Director of Student Support and Judicial Affairs Steve Linhart, winner Michael Reyes, and Tina Collins, program assistant, Dean of Students Office, following the award presentation.
Student Employee of the Year. Student Employment Coordinator Mark Hoffman applauds Michael Reyes, transfer student liaison, Student Success.
Thomas McLaughlin Awards. Athletic Director Steve Kirkham praises Jessica Stewart of the UCCS women’s volleyball team.
Presidential Teaching Scholars. Provost Peg Bacon lauds Andrea Herrera, professor, Women’s and Ethnic Studies, and Paul Harvey, professor, History, while Chancellor Pam Shockley-Zalabak looks on.
Faculty Assembly Service Award. Faculty Assembly President Jackie Berning congratulates winner Bob Durham, associate professor, Psychology, while Jim Spice, chief of police, Public Safety, looks on.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.