UCCS celebrates campus leaders in 2024 Campus Awards Ceremony

The UCCS community celebrated faculty, staff, students and alumni in the annual Campus Awards Ceremony, held on April 16 in Berger Hall.

“There have been so many accomplishments to recognize from the past year,” said Jennifer Sobanet, Chancellor of UCCS. “I cannot emphasize enough that these successes are thanks to you, our phenomenal students, faculty and staff. We simply could not do it without you.”

The ceremony honored recipients of campus awards, in addition to faculty and staff who retired in the past year. The award recipients included:

  • Alumni and Friends Award: Stephannie Finley Fortune (posthumous)

  • Campus Legacy Builders: Gene Abrams, Professor of Mathematics

  • Campus Sustainability Award: Christine Biermann, Associate Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies Department

  • Chancellor’s Award: Kelli Klebe, Professor of Quantitative Psychology & Undergraduate Honors Program Director

  • Faculty Assembly Service Award: Norah Mazel, Director of Learning, Research, and Engagement for Kraemer Family Library & Assistant Professor

  • Faculty Award for Excellence in Research: Jena McCollum, Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Garrett Swasey Outstanding Staff Award: Ann Schwab, Assistant Registrar for Curriculum Management

  • Inclusive Excellence Awards: Carole Woodall, Associate Professor in the Department of History, Yiheng Yvonne, Assistant Professor of Music and Music Program Co-Director, Jennifer Poe, Lecturer in Psychology

  • Outstanding Instructor Award: Dan Olson, Senior Instructor in the College of Public Service

  • Outstanding Teacher Award: Philip Brown, Assistant Professor of Computer Science

  • Ron Wisner Human Spirit and Leadership Award: Taylor Vallance, Women’s and Ethnic Studies

  • Student Achievement Awards: Christian Ruiz, Game Design and Development, and Celine Habimana, Nursing

  • Student Employee of the Year Award: Camille Dysart, Research Assistant

  • Students’ Choice Award for Educator of the Year: Michael Larkin, Teaching Professor, Geography & Environmental Studies

  • Students’ Choice Staff Member of the Year: Whitley Hadley, Director of the MOSAIC and LGBTQ+ Resource Center

  • Thomas F. McLaughlin Awards: Julia Patrick, Lacrosse athlete, majoring in Exercise Science, and Brian Mosley, Jr., Track and Field athlete, majoring in Business