CU School of Medicine Colorado Springs Branch honors outstanding physician teachers

The University of Colorado School of Medicine Colorado Springs Branch and the El Paso County Medical Society Powered by ProPractice will recognize local physicians and health care leaders at the Colorado Springs Branch Faculty Awards and Recognition Ceremony. Dr. John Reilly, Dean for CU School of Medicine, and Colorado Springs Mayor John Suthers will be among the special guests at the ceremony at 5:30 p.m. April 2 at Berger Hall on the UCCS campus.

The evening will begin with a poster session and reception featuring current third-year medical students who conducted quality improvement and community leadership projects, followed by faculty and student project awards. At the end of the ceremony, there will be a physician wellness talk presented by Dr. Dennis Boyle, assistant dean, Office of Community Based Medical Education, CU School of Medicine. Registration is free through the El Paso County Medical Society.

The CU School of Medicine Colorado Springs Branch is the first regional medical campus for the School of Medicine based on the Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora. It allowed the School of Medicine to expand its class size and offer new clinical training opportunities for third- and fourth-year medical students.

The 2017-18 Outstanding Faculty and Clinical Liaisons of the Year:
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Surgery/Anesthesiology: Brandon D. Brown, MD – Evans Army Community Hospital
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Outpatient Internal Medicine: Munni Selagamsetty, MD – Internal Medicine of the Rockies
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Neurology: Diane Hesselbrock, MD – University of Colorado Health Medical Group/Memorial Hospital
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Musculoskeletal Care: Travis Murray, MD – Childrens Hospital of Colorado/CUSOM
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Obstetrics/Gynecology: Diane Ryan, MD – Exceptional Care for Women
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Emergency Medicine: Kenneth Kuper III, MD – Emergency Medical Specialists/Memorial Hospital
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Psychiatry: Brian Bain, MD – PFC Floyd K. Lindstrom VA Outpatient Clinic
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Family Medicine: Jena Reichelt, MD – Kaiser Permanente
Outstanding Clinical Teacher for Pediatrics: Paul Dubé, MD – Peak Vista Community Health Centers
Clinical Teacher of the Year: Diedre Wagers, MD – Exceptional Care for Women
Clinical Liaison of the Year: Jaime Baker, MD – Kaiser Permanente

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.