LAS dean search committee named

May 12, 2011

A 15-member committee will be charged next week with seeking a new dean for the College of Letters, Arts and Sciences.

Peg Bacon, provost, announced the committee members. The committee will meet May 17 to begin the process of selecting a replacement for Tom Christensen, dean, College of Letters, Arts and Sciences since 2005. Christensen announced in March his plan to return to teaching and research as a professor in the Department of Physics and Energy Science. (More)

Employee of the quarter credits campus teamwork

May 5, 2011

Benek Altayli, director, University Counseling Center, is the winner of this term’s Employee of the Quarter award. Altayli’s duties at the counseling center include supervising interns, conducting one-on-one counseling sessions with students and being on (More)

New Staff Council executives announced

May 4, 2011

UCCS Staff Council Co-Presidents Megan Broeren, program assistant, Student Success Center, and Nikki Coahran, administrative assistant, announced winners in this year’s Staff Council Executive Board election in a May 4 campus email. The new officers (More)

Who’s new: April brings new staff

May 2, 2011

Ten new staff or faculty members joined UCCS in April. Their names, title, department and start dates follow. Courtney Vago, assistant director, Office of Student Recruitment, April 1. Carla Myers, assistant professor, Kraemer Family Library, (More)

Long-serving faculty and staff members feted Thursday

April 29, 2011

Led by Paul Ballantyne, professor, Department of Economics, 70 faculty and staff members were honored Thursday for their commitment to the university for 25 or more years of service.

UCCS was only two years old when Ballantyne arrived in the fall of 1967. (More)

Landis wins Faculty Assembly run-off

April 21, 2011

Kevin Landis, associate professor, Visual and Performing Arts, was elected a College of Letters, Arts and Sciences representative to the UCCS Faculty Assembly in a run-off election. He defeated David Weiss, associate professor, Chemistry, for (More)

Benefit plan enrollment begins soon

April 21, 2011

Open enrollment for the 2011-12 plan year begins at 8 a.m. May 2, and ends at 5 p.m. May 27. Online enrollment begins at 8 a.m. May 11.

Decisions that could impact open enrollment are still being finalized, according to Mark Gelband, manager, Publications and Records Administration, Payroll & Benefits Services. That information will be presented in a future CU System Faculty & Staff Newsletter. (More)

New Faculty Representative Assembly officers elected

April 15, 2011

UCCS Faculty Representative Assembly President Catherine Kelly, associate professor, College of Education, announced results of the election for assembly positions for 2011-2012 at the April 8 meeting.

After a year as president-elect, Katie Kaukinen, associate professor, School of Public Affairs, becomes assembly president. Kelly will remain active on the assembly executive board as past president. (More)

Winkelbauer accepts new position

April 14, 2011

Brian Winkelbauer, vice president, CU Foundation, announced this week that he will become associate vice president for university advancement at the Colorado School of Mines Foundation effective May 16.

During the search for Winkelbauer’s replacement, questions about fundraising should be directed to the CU Foundation Office, 255-5100.

1 38 39 40 41 42 48